Saturday, March 06, 2004

Genre Recognition 

Here's a curiosity. Most literary prizes--the National Book Award, the NBCC, etc.--ignore genre fiction candidates, let alone offer separate categories for genre fiction. That's probably due to the usual literary snobbishness about genre fiction, though one could easily argue that genre fiction (especially SF/F/H!) has plenty awards of its own.

But not the Los Angeles Times Book Awards, whose finalists have just been announced. They have an entire *category* for "mystery/thriller".

A year can pass between reviews in the LA Times of books even remotely resembling SFFH. And then they're by Michael Crichton or Ray Bradbury.
Comments: Post a Comment

king under the dome

doctorow makers

banks transition

kress steal sky

atwood year flood

roberts yellow blue tibia

wilson julian comstock

 ness ask and answer

collins catching fire

collins hunger games

sawyer flashforward

baker hotel

disch proteus

tan tales

mazzucchelli asterios

zebrowski empties

morrow shambling

hamilton cpt future

beckett genesis

meller evo rx


kurzweil transcend

sawyer wake

ness knife never letting go

barzak love we share

mcewan cement garden

holland sci-fi art

gladwell outliers

bittman food matters

baggini what's it all about

Still in progress:

ross rest is noise

aldiss billion year spree

pollan omnivore's dilemma

Mark R. Kelly

The opinions expressed in this blog are solely those of Mark R. Kelly, and do not reflect the editorial position of Locus Magazine.
Latest Posts

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?