Thursday, February 12, 2004

This Year's Nebula Stats 

I replaced the initial offsite link to SFWA's Nebula Ballot with an onsite news page listing the nominees (with a couple spelling corrections), along with statistics about past nominations and wins. If obsessive attention to statistics is good enough for Oscar prognosticators, it's good enough for us Nebula and Hugo watchers.

It's remarkable that 5 of last year's 7 winners (counting people, not categories) are nominated again this year. There are 16 first-time nominees this year, though that counts 9 from the script category--the others are Moon, Baker, Doctorow, Vukcevich, Brockmeier, Van Pelt, and Gloss.

None of the novelette nominees has won before.

Of nominees who've never won before, Jack McDevitt and Karen Joy Fowler lead in nominations, with 8 and 7 prior nominations respectively.
Comments: Post a Comment

king under the dome

doctorow makers

banks transition

kress steal sky

atwood year flood

roberts yellow blue tibia

wilson julian comstock

 ness ask and answer

collins catching fire

collins hunger games

sawyer flashforward

baker hotel

disch proteus

tan tales

mazzucchelli asterios

zebrowski empties

morrow shambling

hamilton cpt future

beckett genesis

meller evo rx


kurzweil transcend

sawyer wake

ness knife never letting go

barzak love we share

mcewan cement garden

holland sci-fi art

gladwell outliers

bittman food matters

baggini what's it all about

Still in progress:

ross rest is noise

aldiss billion year spree

pollan omnivore's dilemma

Mark R. Kelly

The opinions expressed in this blog are solely those of Mark R. Kelly, and do not reflect the editorial position of Locus Magazine.
Latest Posts

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?